TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
- JMB
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Elite Member
Less
More
- Posts: 166
- Thank you received: 0
14 years 5 months ago #4379
by JMB
TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH was created by JMB
Hello,
I have written two scripts. One to create the geometry I need (geom.py) and a second one (mesh.py) to mesh it. The reason I have two separate script files is because I run the geom.py in the GEOM module (via GUI interface), then manually switch over to the MESH module and run the (mesh.py) meshing script.
What I would like to do is have one script file that does the geometry construction, then switches over to the MESH module and runs the meshing, (subsequently the application of boundary conditions and loads) and of course finally generating an output file ready for a solver.
If I append the mesh.py to the end of the geom.py and run it as one script only the geometry creation part works, none of the meshing code works. What I am missing the "switch over" code. Can somebody tell me what I need to do please? Thank you.
I tried something like:
[code:1]
...
Mesh_1.Compute()
from salome import ImportComponentGUI
gg = ImportComponentGUI("SMESH"«»)
# gg.CreateAndDisplayActor(the_entry)
gg.CreateAndDisplayActor(Mesh_1)
[/code:1]
But that did not work
Regards,
JMB
I have written two scripts. One to create the geometry I need (geom.py) and a second one (mesh.py) to mesh it. The reason I have two separate script files is because I run the geom.py in the GEOM module (via GUI interface), then manually switch over to the MESH module and run the (mesh.py) meshing script.
What I would like to do is have one script file that does the geometry construction, then switches over to the MESH module and runs the meshing, (subsequently the application of boundary conditions and loads) and of course finally generating an output file ready for a solver.
If I append the mesh.py to the end of the geom.py and run it as one script only the geometry creation part works, none of the meshing code works. What I am missing the "switch over" code. Can somebody tell me what I need to do please? Thank you.
I tried something like:
[code:1]
...
Mesh_1.Compute()
from salome import ImportComponentGUI
gg = ImportComponentGUI("SMESH"«»)
# gg.CreateAndDisplayActor(the_entry)
gg.CreateAndDisplayActor(Mesh_1)
[/code:1]
But that did not work
Regards,
JMB
- JMB
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Elite Member
Less
More
- Posts: 166
- Thank you received: 0
14 years 5 months ago #4380
by JMB
Replied by JMB on topic Re:TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
Disregard my message. I figured out the solution.
JMB
JMB
- kwou
- Offline
- Moderator
14 years 5 months ago #4381
by kwou
Interest: structural mechanics, solar energy (picture at 'my location' shows too little pv panels)
--
kind regards - kees
Replied by kwou on topic Re:TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
Hoi JMB
and is it allowed to tell us what you found out? Just curious
kind regard - kees
and is it allowed to tell us what you found out? Just curious
kind regard - kees
Interest: structural mechanics, solar energy (picture at 'my location' shows too little pv panels)
--
kind regards - kees
- JMB
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Elite Member
Less
More
- Posts: 166
- Thank you received: 0
14 years 5 months ago #4382
by JMB
Replied by JMB on topic Re:TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
Kees Wouters wrote:
Occasionally, one is not allowed to divulge such discoveries because one can be blind to the "Refresh -F5" feature of the Object Browser window and not seeing it earlier makes one look very stupid! Sometimes I think a problem is way more complicated than it really is ... comes from staring at a screen too long!
Regards,
JMB<br /><br />Post edited by: JMB, at: 2010/07/02 03:30
Hoi JMB
and is it allowed to tell us what you found out? Just curious
kind regard - kees
Occasionally, one is not allowed to divulge such discoveries because one can be blind to the "Refresh -F5" feature of the Object Browser window and not seeing it earlier makes one look very stupid! Sometimes I think a problem is way more complicated than it really is ... comes from staring at a screen too long!
Regards,
JMB<br /><br />Post edited by: JMB, at: 2010/07/02 03:30
- kwou
- Offline
- Moderator
14 years 5 months ago #4387
by kwou
Interest: structural mechanics, solar energy (picture at 'my location' shows too little pv panels)
--
kind regards - kees
Replied by kwou on topic Re:TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
Hoi JMB
i sometimes put something like this:
if salome.sg.hasDesktop():
salome.sg.updateObjBrowser(0)
and I *think* this does the marvelous trick (although -once again- I donot fully understand all the objects you need to define).
kind regards - kees
i sometimes put something like this:
if salome.sg.hasDesktop():
salome.sg.updateObjBrowser(0)
and I *think* this does the marvelous trick (although -once again- I donot fully understand all the objects you need to define).
kind regards - kees
Interest: structural mechanics, solar energy (picture at 'my location' shows too little pv panels)
--
kind regards - kees
- JMB
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Elite Member
Less
More
- Posts: 166
- Thank you received: 0
14 years 5 months ago #4388
by JMB
Replied by JMB on topic Re:TUI to switch from GEOM module to MESH
Kees Wouters wrote:
Thank you! Yes I have it in my scripts and it works too. If you can help with the part I have yet to solve, I would appreciate it. See my message: caelinux.com/CMS/index.php?option=com_jo...;id=4383&catid=4
Regards,
JMB<br /><br />Post edited by: JMB, at: 2010/07/03 03:30
Hoi JMB
i sometimes put something like this:
and I *think* this does the marvelous trick (although -once again- I donot fully understand all the objects you need to define).
kind regards - kees
Thank you! Yes I have it in my scripts and it works too. If you can help with the part I have yet to solve, I would appreciate it. See my message: caelinux.com/CMS/index.php?option=com_jo...;id=4383&catid=4
Regards,
JMB<br /><br />Post edited by: JMB, at: 2010/07/03 03:30
Moderators: catux
Time to create page: 0.172 seconds